Tapoons

Moderators: Talltails, LCallaghan, jsuber

SwampYaker
Post Warrior
Post Warrior

Tapoons

Post by SwampYaker »

So I know we have a few that chase the poon around here but do any of yall do it with a flyrod in hand. I have never caught one yet and im a noob to the fly but hell i have 6 months to prepare and I might as well go big or go home right? what would be a recommendation on a setup if I had intentions of landing my first tarpon?
capncrunch
Tall Teller
Tall Teller

Re: Tapoons

Post by capncrunch »

I wouldn’t consider myself a fly guy. I’ve tried it for bass, reds and trout and have come to the conclusion that plugging is the way for me. That being said here’s my two cents on tarpon yak fly fishing. You are already at a disadvantage fishing for poon out of a yak. Why make it insurmountable? If you really want to land a poon with a fly, Turkey Point Shoal is where you need to be. And getting there in a yak is troublesome (1.5-2.5 miles offshore). My recommendation for a poon fly gear setup would be to purchase a 17ft Hellsbay. If you want to try a ladder, I can help, but be willing to piss off a few guides. That’s my summer advice.

Now if you want to chase them this winter. Find an 7/8 weight rod and send me a pm.
SwampYaker
Post Warrior
Post Warrior

Post by SwampYaker »

capncrunch wrote:I wouldn’t consider myself a fly guy. I’ve tried it for bass, reds and trout and have come to the conclusion that plugging is the way for me. That being said here’s my two cents on tarpon yak fly fishing. You are already at a disadvantage fishing for poon out of a yak. Why make it insurmountable? If you really want to land a poon with a fly, Turkey Point Shoal is where you need to be. And getting there in a yak is troublesome (1.5-2.5 miles offshore). My recommendation for a poon fly gear setup would be to purchase a 17ft Hellsbay. If you want to try a ladder, I can help, but be willing to piss off a few guides. That’s my summer advice.