Looking for rod & reel..what do y'all recommend?

New to kayak fishing, come on in for answers.

Moderators: Talltails, LCallaghan, jsuber

Jorge

Post by Jorge »

For fishing the flats in and around the Apalachee Bay area? Don't want to spend a fortune but something better than the Papil's pocket fisherman. I'm new to the flats scene, done most of my fishing in deep water back in South Fla. Any and all help appreciated, Gracias!
bk
Tall Teller
Tall Teller

Re: Looking for rod & reel..what do y'all recommend?

Post by bk »

For kayak fishing?
"i said flotation is groovy and easy. Even a jellyfish would agree to that." - jimi
Jorge

Post by Jorge »

Yes, for Kayak fishing. Need to know sizes, line capacity, etc. Thanks!
cotton
Tall Teller
Tall Teller

Post by cotton »

Budget?
A better Kayaker today, than yesterday.
Red Hobie Revolution
Green Native Slayer 12
Sand Hobie Pro Angler 14
salty gator
Yaking Monster
Yaking Monster

Post by salty gator »

I am terribly hard on tackle, so I prefer rods with a lifetime( or really good ) warrantee. Shimano and gloomis have lifetime. St croix has a 5 year. Star and falcon rods may also have one, just not sure. You can spend $80 on up. Shimano clarus gets you a lot of bang for your buck for around $80. For a little over a hundred you can get into some st croix, star, and higher end shimano rods. I like 7-7 1/2 feet med power fast action. For reels you can get a good saltwater reel for a little over a hundred on up. I prefer 4000 series , but I think a lot of folks like the 2500 or 3000. Give us an idea of your budget and we can probably help narrow down your search. Good luck
You should have been here yesterday
capncrunch
Tall Teller
Tall Teller

Post by capncrunch »

"Over the counter" guarantees on rods have served me well in the past.
jsuber
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by jsuber »